The Folk Museum was set up in 1936 by leading members of the town and university with the aim 'to interest the ordinary citizen in aspects of local social life which were fast disappearing in Cambridgeshire', an ethos which is still held today.
The museum is housed in a 17th-century timber-framed building, which was formerly the White Horse Inn for 300 years.
The wonderful and varied collections are displayed in nine room settings including the bar, the kitchen, the fens and folklore room and the playroom. Each room is filled with intriguing objects, some dating back to the 1600s, as well as familiar household items.
These displays come to life with our temporary exhibitions, which encourage visitors to explore life in the past.